Laying the Foundation

What glorious sunsets I’ve missed. Yet I’ve come from a land of incredible sunrises, aspen groves, pine trees, mountains all around, snow up to my waist, and a sky that makes the ocean envious of its blue – a sky that sparkles and shivers with stars so bright they burn into your mind. At least the stars stay the same…

I arrived home and I feel like nothing here has changed. I feel like a fish out of water, like an aspen away from its roots – I am away from home. I don’t know when I fell head over heels in love with Colorado, but it happened. There are so many good memories there, many stretching and trying experiences, many friendships built, many chances lost. Colorado holds so much wildness, rugged terrain, sun, and indescribable beauty.

Darkness is overtaking the last faint glow of red that was the sunset – a thumbnail moon hides behind bare tree limbs… I can hear traffic again, after being in a place of slow stillness. I can hear my phone ring again, when once I could hear my thoughts dance through my mind. But the one thing I long to hear and don’t are the voices of my friends… No people making a ruckus in the girls’ dorm, nor the sounds of the girls working in the kitchen, or Dave’s loud exclamations from the game room. I can’t smell the “poond” (well, at least there’s one good thing to say!), I can’t see the Milky Way, and I can’t walk down the Forrest Road whenever I please.

Yesterday I was in Colorado, today I’m down on earth again.

Though you can’t see the tears standing in my eyes, perhaps you hear them ringing through my words. My heart is finally allowing itself to grieve and the wound is deep. All is not lost, all is not hopeless: “Wherever you are, be all there. Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be from God.” A quote that refuses to go away, to leave me to mope and feel sorry for myself. I have lived! And richly so! I have been blessed with a season of learning and friendships that runs deep. That season is simply changing from Autumn to deck itself in the white garb of winter, a cloak that sparkles and shimmers despite the chill, and brings a gratitude for spring. I will live! And richly so! I will seize every moment and make the most of my time… And I will remember the blessings that have been graciously showered upon me by the Creator.

><> Jody


Leave a Reply

